Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Film series „8 Years of War in Ukraine: Voices of Ukrainian Filmmakers“

8 Years of War in Ukraine: Voices of Ukrainian Filmmakers

8 Years of War in Ukraine: Voices of Ukrainian Filmmakers

News from Apr 05, 2022

The film series is organized in cooperation between the Media Library of the Institute for East European Studies at Freie Universität Berlin and the Ukrainian Film Festival Berlin (UFFB). The series brings together three films (documentary and feature films) by Ukrainian filmmakers that mark contemporary Ukrainian cinema in the context of the war with Russia, which has been going on for eight years now.

The aim of the series is to open different perspectives on the war, realized in different narratives and visual representations: a post-apocalyptic industrial horror, a reflection on the long-term effects of the war, a documentary of life in wartime, where even small details suddenly receive new meaning.

What unites the films in the series are the voices of Ukrainian filmmakers who lived and shot in Ukraine before and during the war, and whose works illuminate the specific context from a multidimensional perspective.

All screenings will be accompanied by expert talks + a fundraiser for Docudays UA, which will address questions about the current role of art, the visibility of Ukrainian filmmakers in times of war, and the future of Ukrainian cinema with invited filmmakers and guests.

For more information about the film series, the movies, and the fundraiser, please click HERE (in German).

3 / 13

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Filmreihe „8 Years of War in Ukraine: Voices of Ukrainian Filmmakers“

8 Years of War in Ukraine: Voices of Ukrainian Filmmakers

8 Years of War in Ukraine: Voices of Ukrainian Filmmakers

News vom 05.04.2022

Die Filmreihe findet in Kooperation zwischen der Mediothek des Osteuropa-Instituts der Freien Universität Berlin und dem Ukrainischen Filmfestival Berlin (UFFB) statt. Die Reihe versammelt drei Filme (Dokumentar- und Spielfilme) ukrainischer Filmemacher*innen, die das ukrainische Gegenwartskino im Zeichen des schon seit acht Jahren andauernden Krieges mit Russland markieren. 

Das Ziel der Reihe ist es, verschiedene Blickwinkel auf den Krieg zu eröffnen, die in unterschiedlichen Erzählungen und visuellen Darstellungen umgesetzt werden: ein postapokalyptischer Industriehorror, eine Reflexion über die langfristigen Auswirkungen des Krieges, eine Dokumentation des Lebens in Kriegszeiten, in denen selbst kleine Details plötzlich eine neue Bedeutung erhalten.

Was die Filme der Reihe vereint, sind die Stimmen ukrainischer Filmemacher*innen, die vor und während des Krieges in der Ukraine gelebt und gedreht haben und in ihren Arbeiten den spezifischen Kontext aus mehrdimensionaler Perspektive beleuchten.

Alle Filmvorführungen werden durch Expert*innengespräche + Spendenaktion für Docudays UA begleitet, die sich mit eingeladenen Filmemacher*innen und Gästen Fragen nach der aktuellen Rolle der Kunst, nach der Sichtbarkeit von ukrainischen Filmemacher*innen in Zeiten des Krieges und nach der Zukunft des ukrainischen Kinos widmen.

Nähere Informationen zur Filmreihe, den Filmen und der Spendenaktion finden Sie HIER.

5 / 29