Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Obituary for Witold Kośny (1937-2022)

Witold Kośny (Foto, Privatbesitz)

Witold Kośny (Foto, Privatbesitz)

News from Dec 19, 2022

In October of this year (2022), Witold Kośny, Professor of Slavic Literatures at the Institute for Eastern European Studies at Freie Universität Berlin from 1985 to 1995, passed away.

Witold Kośny's life is closely linked to Berlin - but it seemed unlikely that he would become a professor of Slavic literature there when, after graduating from high school in 1956, he decided to study physics, chemistry, and mathematics at the Technical University. It took him four years before he decided to switch to the humanities in 1961 and take up studies in Slavic and East European history at the FU Berlin, which he completed in 1966 with a doctorate on "Das Deutsche Volksbuch vom Kaiser Octavian in Polen und Rußland". After assistant professorships in Constance and Amsterdam, among others, he returned to the Institute for East European Studies at Freie Universität as a professor in 1986 - at a time of serious change in Eastern Europe.

Witold Kośny has consistently accompanied the transformation era in research and teaching. Together with colleagues at Freie Universität, he established the Research Training Group "The Transformation of Social Systems in Eastern and Southeastern Europe since the 1980s.

He was actively involved in its first funding phase, but in 1995 he left Freie Universität to accept a call to the University of Rostock and, with great commitment, to rebuild the Institute for Slavic Studies there. Witold Kośny remained in Rostock until his retirement in 2003.

The Osteuropa-Institut last invited him in the summer of 2022, a few months before his death, to speak about his time at the OEI on the occasion of the 70th anniversary of the institute's founding. Witold Kośny was already unable to participate in this conversation for health reasons. He remains unforgotten at the Institute for Eastern Europe.

3 / 43

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Nachruf auf Witold Kośny (1937-2022)

Witold Kośny (Foto, Privatbesitz)

Witold Kośny (Foto, Privatbesitz)

News vom 19.12.2022

Im Oktober dieses Jahrs verstarb Witold Kośny, von 1985 bis 1995 Professor für Slavische Literaturen am Osteuropa-Institut der Freien Universität Berlin.

Witold Kośnys Lebensweg ist eng mit Berlin verbunden – dass er eben dort Professor für Slavische Literaturen werden sollte, schien jedoch wenig wahrscheinlich, als sich Witold Kośny nach dem Abitur 1956 zu einem Studium der Physik, Chemie und Mathematik an der TU entscheidet. Vier Jahre dauert es, bis er sich 1961 entschließt, zu den Geisteswissenschaften zu wechseln und an der FU Berlin ein Studium der Slavistik und der Osteuropäischen Geschichte aufzunehmen, das er 1966 mit einer Promotion über „Das Deutsche Volksbuch vom Kaiser Octavian in Polen und Rußland“ abschließt. Nach Assistenzen und Lehrstuhlvertretungen u.a. in Konstanz und Amsterdam, kehrte er 1986 als Professor an das Osteuropa-Institut der Freien Universität zurück – in einer Zeit gravierender Veränderungen in Osteuropa.

Konsequent hat Witold Kośny die Transformationsepoche in Forschung und Lehre begleitet. An der FU rief er gemeinsam mit Kollegen das Graduiertenkolleg „Die Umgestaltung der gesellschaftlichen Systeme in Ost- und Südosteuropa seit den 80er Jahren“ ins Leben.

Dessen erste Förderphase gestaltete er aktiv mit, doch 1995 verlässt er die Freie Universität, um einem Ruf an die Universität Rostock zu folgen und mit größtem Engagement das dortige Institut für Slawistik neu aufzubauen. In Rostock bleibt Witold Kośny bis zu seiner Emeritierung im Jahre 2003.

Das Osteuropa-Institut lud ihn zuletzt im Sommer 2022, wenige Monate vor seinem Tod, ein, anlässlich des 70. Jahrestags der Institutsgründung über seine Zeit am OEI zu sprechen. An diesem Gespräch konnte Witold Kośny aus gesundheitlichen Gründen schon nicht mehr teilnehmen. Er bleibt am Osteuropa-Institut unvergessen.

5 / 100