Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Workshop "(Anti)Discrimination in Study and Teaching" (in German), 28.01.2022

Toolbox Logo

Toolbox Logo

News from Jan 06, 2022

(Anti)Discrimination in Teaching and Learning

Online workshop for teachers and students at the OEI

28.1.22 from 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Universities and courses are not a power-free space. Hierarchies exist between students and faculty, but all participants also bring experiences of social discrimination and privilege.

This short workshop aims to provide a systematic exploration of diversity and (anti-)discrimination. It offers both an overview of central concepts and an opportunity for joint reflection on experiences and challenges in studying and teaching, especially under pandemic conditions.

The goal is to deal with the levels of structural, institutional, and individual discrimination and to get to know the framework conditions and regulations at the FU. Using case studies, we will analyze how unquestioned assumptions and attributions as well as individual and structural hurdles or the way they are dealt with can lead to disadvantages in teaching-learning situations.

How can students and teachers deal with such situations? What are good methods and communication strategies when the atmosphere becomes tenser? And how does gender- and diversity-conscious teaching contribute preventively to a constructive teaching-learning atmosphere?

The event will be conducted by the staff of the Toolbox Gender and Diversity, Melanie Bittner and Jana Gerlach, and will provide a moderated setting in which students and faculty can exchange ideas.

Contents:

- Clarification of the concept of discrimination

- Sensitization to one's own unconscious assumptions and patterns of evaluation

- FU's position on diversity and (anti-)discrimination

- Pandemic as a challenge for studying and teaching

- Approaches for gender- and diversity-conscious courses

Registration

The number of participants in the workshop is limited. It will be held in the format of a Webex meeting. Please register at anja.locascio@fu-berlin.de. The deadline for registration is January 23, 2022.

14 / 29

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Workshop "(Anti-)Diskriminierung in Studium und Lehre", 28.01.2022

Toolbox Logo

Toolbox Logo

News vom 06.01.2022

                 (Anti-)Diskriminierung in Studium und Lehre

Online-Workshop für Lehrende und Studierende am OEI

28.1.22 von 9.30 Uhr bis 13.00 Uhr

 

Universitäten und Lehrveranstaltungen sind kein machtfreier Raum. Es gibt Hierarchien zwischen Studierenden und Lehrenden, aber alle Beteiligten bringen auch Erfahrungen von gesellschaftlicher Diskriminierung und Privilegierung mit.

Der Kurz-Workshop soll eine systematische Auseinandersetzung mit Diversity und (Anti-)Diskriminierung ermöglichen. Er bietet sowohl einen Überblick über zentrale Begriffe als auch Gelegenheit zur gemeinsamen Reflexion von Erfahrungen und Herausforderungen in Studium und Lehre, insbesondere unter Pandemiebedingungen.

Ziel ist es, sich mit den Ebenen struktureller, institutioneller und individueller Diskriminierung auseinanderzusetzen und die Rahmenbedingungen und Regelungen an der FU kennenzulernen. Anhand von Fallbeispielen analysieren wir, wie in Lehr-Lern-Situationen unhinterfragte Annahmen und Zuschreibungen sowie individuelle und strukturelle Hürden bzw. der Umgang mit diesen zu Benachteiligungen führen können.

Wie können Studierende und Lehrende mit solchen Situationen umgehen? Was sind gute Methoden und Kommunikationsstrategien, wenn die Stimmung angespannter wird? Und wie trägt gender- und diversitätsbewusste Lehre präventiv zu einer konstruktiven Lehr-Lern-Atmosphäre bei?

Die Veranstaltung wird von den Mitarbeiterinnen der Toolbox Gender und Diversity, Melanie Bittner und Jana Gerlach, durchgeführt und bietet einen moderierten Rahmen, in dem Studierende und Lehrende sich austauschen können.

 

Inhalte:

-       Klärung des Diskriminierungsbegriffs

-       Sensibilisierung für eigene unbewusste Vorannahmen und Bewertungsmuster

-       Haltung der FU zu Diversity und (Anti-)Diskriminierung

-       Pandemie als Herausforderung für Studium und Lehre

-       Handlungsansätze für gender- und diversitätsbewusste Lehrveranstaltungen

 

Anmeldung

Die Teilnehmer*innenzahl des Workshops ist begrenzt. Er wird im Format eines Webex-Meetings abgehalten. Bitte melden Sie sich unter anja.locascio@fu-berlin.de an. Anmeldeschluss ist der 23. Januar 2022.

1 / 94