Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Application

Application deadlines

The Master's program in Eastern European Studies begins once a year for first-year students in the winter semester. Applications are welcome from April 15 to August 15. Early applicants may receive an admission letter as early as the end of July.

Higher semesters apply from July 01 to August 15 for the winter semester and from January 01 to February 15 for the summer semester.

The admission regulations from the Official Gazette 5/2018 apply (in German).

Applicants who have obtained their degree in Germany apply via the online application of Freie Universität Berlin. Applicants who have obtained their degree abroad should apply via uni-assist. For more detailed information, please refer to the Master's homepage of the FUB

Admission requirements

  • A professionally qualifying German or equivalent foreign degree from a university with a study portion of at least 60 credit points in one of the following disciplines: political science, sociology, economics, history or cultural studies. If these credit points are spread over several of the aforementioned disciplines, a study portion amounting to at least 40 credit points must be in one of the aforementioned disciplines.

  • Knowledge of the English language at level B2 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). Please note that proof of six years of schooling in English or proof of equivalent language testing for the B2 degree is a requirement of your application. Recognized equivalent qualifications are: IELTS 5.0; Cambridge Examinations: First Certificate (FCE); Advanced (CAE); Proficiency (CPE).

  • Applicants whose native language is not German and who have obtained their degree at a foreign university must provide proof of German language skills at level C1. This can be done by passing the German Language Test for University Admission (DSH) or by proving an equivalent level of proficiency. (Further information on German language proficiency).

Questions?

Our Master's coordinator Sabine Pag will be happy to provide you with information. Virtual office hours can be arranged promptly upon request.

Provisional supervision commitments for scholarship providers

If you need a preliminary confirmation of supervision for a scholarship provider (e.g. DAAD), please send the following documents to the Master's Coordinator by e-mail or mail:

  • Tabular curriculum vitae
  • Letter of motivation for the desired course of study
  • Proof of previous academic achievements

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Bewerbung

Bewerbungsfristen

Der Masterstudiengang Osteuropastudien beginnt für Fach-Erstsemester einmal im Jahr zum Wintersemester. Bewerbungen sind jeweils vom 15. April bis zum 31. Mai willkommen.

Höhere Fachsemester bewerben sich jeweils vom 01. Juli bis zum 15. August für das Wintersemester bzw. vom 01. Januar bis zum 15.Februar für das Sommersemester.

Es gilt die Zugangssatzung aus dem Amtsblatt 5/2018.

Bewerber_innen, die ihren Studienabschluss im Ausland erworben haben, bewerben sich über uni-assist, die übrigen über die online-Bewerbung der Freien Universität Berlin. Ausführlichere Informationen entnehmen Sie bitte der Master-Homepage der FUB.

Zulassungsvoraussetzungen

  • Ein berufsqualifizierender deutscher oder gleichwertiger ausländischer Abschluss eines Hochschulstudiums mit einem Studienanteil im Umfang von mindestens 60 Leistungspunkten in einer der folgenden Disziplinen: Politikwissenschaft, Soziologie, Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Geschichtswissenschaften oder Kulturwissenschaften. Sind diese Leistungspunkte über mehrere der vorgenannten Disziplinen verteilt, muss ein Studienanteil im Umfang von mindestens 40 Leistungspunkten in einer der vorgenannten Disziplinen vorliegen.
  • Kenntnisse der englischen Sprache auf dem Niveau B2 des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen (GER). Bitte beachten Sie, dass der Nachweis von sechs Jahre Schuljahren Englischunterricht oder der Nachweis gleichwertiger Sprachprüfungen für den B2-Abschluss Voraussetzung Ihrer Bewerbung sind. Anerkannte gleichwertige Abschlüsse sind: IELTS 5.0; Cambridge Examinations: First Certificate (FCE); Advanced (CAE);Proficiency (CPE).
  • Bei Bewerberinnen und Bewerbern, deren Muttersprache nicht Deutsch ist und die ihren Studienabschluss an einer ausländischen Hochschule erworben haben, ist der Nachweis von Deutschkenntnissen auf dem Niveau C 1 zu erbringen. Dies kann durch das Bestehen der Deutschen Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang (DSH) oder durch Nachweis eines gleichwertigen Kenntnisstandes.(Weitere Informationen zu Deutschkenntnissen).

Vorläufige Betreuungszusagen für Stipendiengeber

Wenn Sie eine vorläufige Betreuungszusage für einen Stipendiengeber (z.B. DAAD) benötigen, schicken Sie bitte folgende Unterlagen per E-Mail oder Post an die Masterkoordination:

  • Tabellarischer Lebenslauf
  • Motivationsschreiben für den Studienwunsch
  • Nachweise der bisherigen Studienleistungen