Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Introduction to the Master Program

Since fall 2003, the Institute for East European Studies at Freie Universität Berlin has been offering a 4-semester Master of Arts in East European Studies.

The interdisciplinary master program in East European Studies imparts skills related to Eastern Central, Southeastern, and Eastern Europe. The two-year program enables graduates to successfully work as scientifically sound and research-oriented Eastern European experts in science as well as in a variety of professional fields.

The program is based on a first university degree (B.A. or equivalent professional qualification) and is aimed at students from the fields of cultural and literary studies, history, politics, sociology and economics. You have the opportunity to deepen your previous field of study in an East European-related way and to supplement it with other disciplines. In addition, there is a practice-oriented interdisciplinary module and an internship.

Selected students of the Master of East European Studies at the Institute for East European Studies of Freie Universität Berlin have the opportunity to obtain a Master of Arts Double Degree with the School of Sociology at HSE Moscow, Russia, with HSE St. Petersburg, Russia or with the University of Tartu, Estonia.

Start of studies

Each winter semester

Duration of study

4 semesters

Tuition fees

Freie Universität Berlin does not charge tuition fees. The usual semester fees and fees of Freie Universität Berlin are payable and include the semester ticket for public transport.

Application deadline

The master program in East European Studies begins once a year for the first semester in the winter semester. The application deadline is 15 April to 15 August. Early applicants will receive a notice of admisison by the end of July.

Higher semesters apply from 01 July to 15 August for the winter semester and from 01 January to 15 February for the summer semester.

Admission requirements

In order to be able to study the consecutive master program in Eastern European Studies, applicants must meet the following admission requirements:

  • German or equivalent foreign degree qualifying for a profession, with a minimum of 60 credit points in one of the following disciplines: political science, sociology, economics, history or cultural studies. If these credit points are distributed over several of the above-mentioned disciplines, a minimum of 40 credit points must be earned in one of the above-mentioned disciplines.
  • Knowledge of English at level B2 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). Please note that proof of six years of schooling in English or equivalent language tests for the B2 degree is a prerequisite for your application. Recognised equivalent qualifications are: IELTS 5.0; Cambridge Examinations: First Certificate (FCE); Advanced (CAE);Proficiency (CPE)
  • Applicants whose native language is not German and who have obtained their degree at a foreign university must provide proof of their knowledge of German. This can be done by passing the Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang (DSH) or by proving an equivalent level of knowledge.

The access statutes from the Official Journal 5/2018 apply.

Applicants who have not yet obtained their first degree can also be admitted (for a limited period). In this case, a current transcript of records must be submitted instead. In principle, at least two-thirds of the Bachelor's programme must be completed and the topic of the Bachelor's thesis must have been submitted.

Application

The application modalities for the master program depend on whether you have obtained your first vocational qualification (usually a Bachelor's degree) in Germany.

Resident students

If you have earned your first degree within Germany, please fill out the online application form in the application portal of Freie Universität. All application documents must be uploaded exclusively on the portal. Hardship applications will be sent by post to the Admissions Office of Freie Universität.

Postal address for hardship applications

Freie Universität Berlin

Application and Admission

Iltisstr. 1

D-14195 Berlin, Germany

Further information for applications with a German university degree can be found here.

Foreign Students

If you have not obtained your first degree in Germany, you must submit your application via the uni-assist applicant portal. Further information for applications with a foreign university degree can be found here.

Your application should include the following documents:

  • The completed application form for admission to the master program in Eastern European Studies,
  • Proof of previous university degrees
  • Proof of English proficiency at level B2 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR)
  • If applicable, proof of German language proficiency for non-native applicants at level C 1

The application documents must be submitted in full to the office responsible for admission at Freie Universität Berlin by the deadline for applications.

Further information on the application and admission procedure can be found on the central pages of Freie Universität.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Vorstellung des Masters am Osteuropa-Institut

Das Osteuropa-Institut der Freien Universität Berlin bietet seit dem Wintersemester 2003/04 einen 4-semestrigen Master in Osteuropastudien (Master of Arts) an.

Der interdisziplinäre Masterstudiengang Osteuropastudien vermittelt Fähigkeiten mit Bezug auf Ostmittel-, Südost- und Osteuropa. Das zweijährige Studium befähigt die Absolventen, als wissenschaftlich fundierte und forschungsorientierte Osteuropa-ExpertInnen in der Wissenschaft wie auch in vielfältigen Berufsfeldern erfolgreich tätig zu werden.

Der Studiengang baut auf einen ersten Studienabschluss (B.A. oder gleichwertiger berufsqualifizierender Abschluss) auf und richtet sich an Studierende vor allem aus den Fachbereichen Kultur- und LiteraturwissenschaftGeschichte, Politik, Soziologie und Volkswirtschaft. Sie haben die Möglichkeit, Ihre bisherige Fachrichtung osteuropabezogen zu vertiefen und sie mit anderen Disziplinen zu ergänzen. Hinzu kommen ein praxisbezogenes interdisziplinäres Modul und ein Berufspraktikum. (Exemplarischer Studienverlaufsplan)

Ausgewählte Studierende des Masters Osteuropastudien am Osteuropa-Institut der Freien Universität Berlin haben die Möglichkeit, einen Master of Arts Double Degree mit der Soziologischen Schule an der HSE Moskau, Russland oder mit der Universität Tartu, Estland zu erwerben.

Studienbeginn

Jeweils zum Wintersemester

Studiendauer

4 Semester

Studiengebühren

Die Freie Universität Berlin erhebt keine Studiengebühren. Die üblichen Semestergebühren und –beiträge der Freien Universität Berlin sind zu entrichten und enthalten unter anderem das Semesterticket für den öffentlichen Nahverkehr.

Bewerbungsfrist

Der Masterstudiengang Osteuropastudien beginnt für Erstsemester einmal im Jahr zum Wintersemester. Bewerbungsfrist ist jeweils vom 15. April bis zum 31. Mai.

Höhere Fachsemester bewerben sich jeweils vom 01. Juli bis zum 15. August für das Wintersemester bzw. vom 01. Januar bis zum 15.Februar für das Sommersemester.

Zulassungvoraussetzungen

Um ein Studium des konsekutiven Masterstudienganges Osteuropastudien aufnehmen zu können, müssten BewerberInnen folgende Zulassungsvoraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • berufsqualifizierender deutscher oder gleichwertiger ausländischer Abschluss eines Hochschulstudiums mit einem Studienanteil im Umfang von mindestens 60 Leistungspunkten in einer der folgenden Disziplinen: Politikwissenschaft, Soziologie, Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Geschichtswissenschaften oder Kulturwissenschaften. Sind diese Leistungspunkte über mehrere der vorgenannten Disziplinen verteilt, muss ein Studienanteil im Umfang von mindestens 40 Leistungspunkten in einer der vorgenannten Disziplinen vorliegen.
  • Kenntnisse der englischen Sprache auf dem Niveau B2 des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen (GER). Bitte beachten Sie, dass der Nachweis von sechs Jahre Schuljahren Englischunterricht oder der Nachweis gleichwertiger Sprachprüfungen für den B2-Abschluss Voraussetzung Ihrer Bewerbung sind. Anerkannte gleichwertige Abschlüsse sind: IELTS 5.0; Cambridge Examinations: First Certificate (FCE); Advanced (CAE);Proficiency (CPE)
  • Bei BewerberInnen, deren Muttersprache nicht Deutsch ist und die ihren Studienabschluss an einer ausländischen Hochschule erworben haben, ist der Nachweis von Deutschkenntnissen zu erbringen. Dies kann durch das Bestehen der Deutschen Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang (DSH) oder durch Nachweis eines gleichwertigen Kenntnisstandes.

Es gilt die Zugangssatzung aus dem Amtsblatt 5/2018

Auch BewerberInnen, die ihren ersten Studienabschluss noch nicht erhalten haben, können (befristet) zugelassen werden. In diesem Fall muss ersatzweise ein aktueller Leistungsnachweis (transcript of records) eingereicht werden. Grundsätzlich gilt, dass mindestens zwei Drittel der im Bachelorstudiengang zu erbringenden Leistungen bewertet sein müssen und das Thema der Bachelorarbeit ausgegeben wurde.

Bewerbung

Die Bewerbungsmodalitäten für den Masterstudiengang hängen davon ab, ob sie ihren ersten berufsqualifizierenden Abschluss (i.d.R. Bachelor) in Deutschland erworben haben.

Bildungsinländer

Wenn Sie Ihren ersten Abschluss innerhalb Deutschlands erworben haben, füllen Sie bitte das Online-Bewerbungsformular im Bewerbungsportal der Freien Universität aus. Alle Bewerbungsunterlagen müssen ausschließlich auf dem Portal hochgeladen werden. Härtefallanträge aus gesundheitlichen Gründen werden auf postalischem Weg an das Zulassungsbüro der Freien Universität gesendet (Freie Universität Berlin, Bereich Bewerbung und Zulassung, Iltisstr. 1, D-14195 Berlin).

Weitere Informationen für die Bewerbung mit deutschem Hochschulabschluss finden Sie hier.

Bildungsausländer

Wenn Sie Ihren ersten Abschluss nicht in Deutschland erworben haben, müssen Sie Ihren Antrag über das Bewerberportal von uni-assist auf schicken. Weitere Informationen für die Bewerbung mit ausländischem Hochschulabschluss finden Sie hier.

Bewerbungsunterlagen

Ihre Bewerbung sollte folgendes beinhalten:

  • Das ausgefüllte Bewerbungsformular für die Zulassung zum Masterstudiengang Osteuropastudien,
  • Nachweis bisheriger Hochschulabschlüsse
  • Nachweis über  Englischkenntnisse auf dem Niveau B2 des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens (GER)
  • Ggf. Nachweis von Deutschkenntnissen für nicht-muttersprachliche Bewerber
  • Nachweis von außerhochschulischen erworbenen Qualifikationen (z.B. Praktika)

Die Bewerbungsunterlagen müssen bei Ablauf der Bewerbungsfrist vollständig bei der für die Zulassung zuständigen Stelle der Freien Universität Berlin vorliegen.

Weitere  Informationen zum Bewerbungs- und Zulassungsverfahren sind auf den zentralen Seiten der Freien Universität zu finden.