Study program

Germany in Russian & International Affairs (GRIA) presents Germany and its role in the international context. The focus of GRIA is on economics, but the program is open to students from all faculties at the MGIMO as an interdisciplinary bachelor's complementary program.

The GRIA study program includes courses in economics and politics as well as a compulsory internship. Participation in the GRIA is certified with a certificate of 30 ECTS.

Curriculum

In the academic year 2019/20 the program follows the following curriculum:

Module Economics (19 ECTS) Politics (6 ECTS)
Winter semester
  • Seminar Economy & the economic system of Germany
  • Seminar Questions of European economic and financial policy
  • Tutorial Economics I
  • Seminar Questions of German Foreign Policy

  • Tutorial Germany in the context of European Union

Summer semester
  • Seminar World economy & German foreign trade relations

  • Tutorial Economics II

  • Seminar German-Russian relations: historical & current aspects

  • Tutorial German-Russian relations in the historical context

Lecture free period Application training + internship (5 ECTS)

Form

With regard to curricula, forms of learning, performance requirements and assessment standards, GRIA is oriented towards the standards of German universities. At the beginning of the academic year, students are taught these standards as part of the intercultural learning. This is extremely important because the higher education system in Russia follows different patterns than the one in Germany. All GRIA courses are compulsory. Almost all courses are held in German.

Courses take the form of seminars and tutorials.

Seminars are held by German or Russian university teachers and take place...

  • as block courses (classes six days in a row, four hours a day) or
  • weekly (80 minutes each week during one semester).

Tutorien gestalten deutsche Universitätsabsolvent/innen. Sie dienen der Unterstützung der Seminare und finden wöchentlich statt. Hier werden Methoden wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens vermittelt und Seminarinhalte vertieft. Die Tutor/innen sind darüber hinaus Ansprechpartner/innen der Studierenden und unterstützen sie bei der Erstellung wissenschaftlicher Konzepte und Arbeiten sowie bei organisatorischen Fragen.

Tutorials are held by German university graduates. Tutorials support seminars and take place weekly. They impart methods of scientific work and deepen seminar contents. Moreover, the tutors are contact persons for the students and support them in the preparation of scientific concepts and papers as well as in organisational questions.

Mandatory internship

Students can gain practical experience during a 6-week internship in a German company in Russia or in a German-speaking country.

Students are prepared for their internship by the tutors at the MGIMO. In a workshop at the end of the summer semester, they prepare application documents for an internship. Up to now, all students have successfully been offered an internship of their choice, predominantly with cultural mediators, law firms, political foundations or companies, especially business consultancies.

Scholarship for a stay in Germany

A stay in Germany is not obligatory, but is supported both organizationally and financially for the scholarship holders of the programme. Scholarships at GRIA are awarded based on performance, i.e. the best graduates according to the grade average are given the opportunity to study for one semester at the FU Berlin.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Studienprogramm

Germany in Russian & International Affairs zeigt Deutschland und dessen Rolle im internationalen Kontext. Der Schwerpunkt von GRIA liegt bei den Wirtschaftswissenschaften, dennoch steht das Programm als interdisziplinäres Bachelor-Begleitstudium Studierenden aller Fakultäten des MGIMO offen.

Das GRIA-Studienprogram beinhaltet Kurse in Wirtschaft und Politik sowie ein Pflichtpraktikum. Die Teilnahme am GRIA wird mit einem Zertifikat über 30 ECTS bescheinigt.

Verlauf

Im Studienjahr 2019/20 folgt das Program dem folgenden Curriculum:

Modul Wirtschaft (19 ECTS) Politik (6 ECTS)
Wintersemester
  • Seminar Wirtschaft & das Wirtschaftssystem Deutschlands

  • Seminar Fragestellungen der europäischen Wirtschafts- und Finanzpolitik

  • Tutorium Wirtschaft I

  • Seminar Fragestellungen der deutschen Außenpolitik

  • Tutorium Deutschland im Kontext der Europäischen Union

Sommersemester
  • Seminar Weltwirtschaft & deutsche Außenwirtschaftsbeziehungen

  • Tutorium Wirtschaft II

  • Seminar Deutsch-Russische Beziehungen: Historische & Aktuelle Aspekte

  • Tutorium Deutsch-Russische Beziehungen im historischen Kontext

Vorlesungsfreie Zeit Bewerbungstraining + Praktikum (5 ECTS)

Form

GRIA orientiert sich im Hinblick auf Lehrpläne, Lernformen, Leistungsanforderungen und Bewertungsmaßstäben an den Standards deutscher Hochschulen. Zu Beginn des Studienjahres werden den Studierenden diese Standards als Teil interkulturellen Lernens vermittelt. Dies ist ausgesprochen wichtig, weil die Hochschullandschaft in Russland anderen Mustern folgt. Alle GRIA-Lehrveranstaltungen sind obligatorisch. Nahezu alle Lehrveranstaltungen werden in deutscher Sprache durchgeführt.

Lehrveranstaltungen finden in Form von Seminaren und Tutorien statt.

Seminare werden von deutschen oder russischen Hochschullehrer/innen gehalten und finden statt:

  • geblockt (sechs Tage Kompaktveranstaltung, täglich vier Stunden) oder
  • wöchentlich (ein Semester lang, jeweils 80 Minuten pro Woche).

Tutorien gestalten deutsche Universitätsabsolvent/innen. Sie dienen der Unterstützung der Seminare und finden wöchentlich statt. Hier werden Methoden wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens vermittelt und Seminarinhalte vertieft. Die Tutor/innen sind darüber hinaus Ansprechpartner/innen der Studierenden und unterstützen sie bei der Erstellung wissenschaftlicher Konzepte und Arbeiten sowie bei organisatorischen Fragen.

Pflichtpraktikum

Praktische Erfahrungen können die Studierenden im Rahmen eines 6-wöchigen Praktikums in einer deutschen Firma in Russland oder im deutschsprachigen Ausland sammeln.

Die Studierenden werden durch die Tutor/innen am MGIMO auf ihr Praktikum vorbereitet. In einem Workshop am Ende des Sommersemesters erarbeiten sie Bewerbungsunterlagen für einen Praktikumsplatz. Bislang haben alle Studierenden erfolgreich einen Praktikumsplatz ihrer Wahl bekommen, ganz überwiegend bei Kulturmittlern, Anwaltskanzleien, politischen Stiftungen oder Unternehmen, insbesondere Wirtschaftsberatungen.

Stipendium zum Deutschland-Aufenthalt

Ein Deutschland-Aufenthalt ist nicht obligatorisch, wird aber organisatorisch und — für die Stipendiat/innen des Programms — finanziell unterstützt. Die Stipendienvergabe bei GRIA erfolgt leistungsabhängig, d.h. die nach dem Notendurchschnitt besten Absolventen/innen erhalten die Möglichkeit, ein Semester lang an der FU Berlin zu studieren.