Springe direkt zu Inhalt

70 years of OEI

The Institute for East European Studies

The Institute for East European Studies
Image Credit: Anna Khaerdinova

In November 1951, three years after the founding of Freie Universität, the Institute for Eastern European Studies was opened at the FU Berlin. The establishment of a separate institute for the study of Eastern Europe was a programmatic signal: It was necessary to establish research on Eastern Europe that was able to free itself from the old tendencies of Nazi-oriented "Ostforschung" - and at the same time, in view of the new realities of the Cold War, had to find a place in the changed world and academic order. To meet these challenges, a structurally new form of organization was chosen that was characterized by interdisciplinarity and multidisciplinarity and combined policy advice with basic scientific research. The founding professors Werner Philipp (History), Walter Meder (Law), Erich Kosiol and Karl Thalheim (Economics), and Max Vasmer (Slavic Studies) played a central role in this. A little later, other departments were added for art history, medicine, regional studies, education and sociology.

In addition to academic work in research and teaching, the aim was to make the knowledge acquired accessible to a wider public and, as Ernst Reuter demanded at the ceremony marking the opening, to create an awareness that the countries behind the Iron Curtain "belonged to Europe and that the Institute should contribute to forging a bond with the Eastern European peoples and point the way to a better future." The Osteuropa-Institut is committed to this mission to this day.

The Osteuropa-Institut's seventy-year history mirrors Berlin's and Germany's eventful relations with its eastern neighbors in the 20th and 21st centuries. The turbulent founding phase, during which very different people and positions were brought together, is as much a milestone for this as the period of student protests at the end of the 1960s and the years of system collapse and system transformation since the 1990s. In the course of these massive changes, the Institute itself changed along with Eastern European studies. Through the fall of communism, it came under massive pressure to justify itself and fought for its existence for years. Today, the Institute is once again a central location for international research on Eastern Europe.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

70 Jahre OEI

Das Osteuropa-Institut

Das Osteuropa-Institut
Bildquelle: Anna Khaerdinova

Im November 1951, drei Jahre nach der Gründung der Freien Universität, wurde das Osteuropa-Institut an der FU Berlin eröffnet. Die Einrichtung eines eigenen Instituts für die Erforschung des östlichen Europas war ein programmatisches Signal: Es galt, eine Osteuropaforschung zu etablieren, die sich von den alten Tendenzen der völkisch orientierten „Ostforschung“ im Nationalsozialismus zu befreien vermochte – und die zugleich angesichts der neuen Realitäten des Kalten Krieges einen Platz in der veränderten Welt- und Wissenschaftsordnung finden musste. Um diese Herausforderungen zu meistern, wurde eine strukturell neue Organisationsform gewählt, die sich durch Inter- und Multidisziplinarität auszeichnete und Politikberatung mit wissenschaftlicher Grundlagenforschung verband. Eine zentrale Rolle hierfür spielten die Gründungsprofessoren Werner Philipp (Geschichte), Walter Meder (Recht) Erich Kosiol und Karl Thalheim (Wirtschaft) sowie Max Vasmer (Slavistik). Wenig später kamen weitere Abteilungen für Kunstgeschichte, Medizin, Landeskunde, Bildungswesen und Soziologie hinzu.

Neben der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit in Forschung und Lehre galt es, einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit das erarbeitete Wissen zugänglich zu machen und, wie Ernst Reuter auf dem Festakt anlässlich der Eröffnung forderte, ein Bewusstsein dafür zu schaffen, dass die Länder hinter dem Eisernen Vorhang „zu Europa gehörten und daß das Institut dazu beitragen möge, ein Band zu den osteuropäischen Völkern zu schlagen und einen Weg in eine bessere Zukunft zu weisen.“ Diesem Auftrag sieht sich das Osteuropa-Institut bis in die heutige Zeit verpflichtet.

Das Osteuropa-Institut ist seiner siebzigjährigen Geschichte ein Spiegel der wechselvollen Beziehungen Berlins und Deutschlands zu seinen östlichen Nachbarn im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert. Die turbulente Gründungsphase, während der ganz unterschiedliche Personen und Positionen zusammengeführt wurden, ist hierfür ebenso ein Meilenstein wie die Zeit der Studierendenproteste Ende der 1960er Jahre und die Jahre des Systemzusammenbruchs und der Systemtransformation seit den 1990er Jahren. Im Verlauf dieser massiven Veränderungen hat sich mit der Osteuropaforschung auch das Institut selbst verändert. Durch die Wende geriet es unter massiven Rechtfertigungsdruck und kämpfte jahrelang um seine Existenz. Heute ist das Institut wieder zentraler Ort internationaler Osteuropaforschung.

Institutschronik in Bildern

Veranstaltungskalender